Surb Shoghakat church was built in 1694 by prince Aghamal Shorotetsi in the time of the CatholicosNahapat to the west of St. Hripsime church on the site of IV century chapel. Together with the two virgins, Gayaneh and Hripsimeh martyred, there was the third unnamed nun on the site of whose martyrdom a church was erected by Gregory the Illuminator. The church took the name of Shoghakat meaning “drop of light” after the light appearing on the martyrdom of the unknown virgin.
Shoghakat has a unique architecture that is called domed hall. It is erected from reddish tufa stone. The interior has a vaulted gallery above the entrance that was built at the same time with the church, surmounted by a six-rotunda-belfry. High octagonal dome emphasizes internal volume of the most illuminated part of the hall. Discreet form of architectural details and ornamental decoration has much in common with the decorations of St. Echmiadzin Cathedral and St. Hripsime Church. SurbShoghakat church of Vagharshapat was placed on UNESCO's World Heritage List in 2000.